In the state of Florida, all drivers are required to carry liability insurance when driving. Here are some helpful tips to assist you when it comes time to buy auto insurance in Florida.
Get a few quotes. Buying auto insurance takes a little bit of time, but shopping around for quotes can save you a lot of money each year. When you need to buy auto insurance in Florida, do yourself a favor and get a few quotes before you settle on one policy. Call around to different auto insurance companies in the state. Your family and friends can likely recommend their favorites to you, but you can also check out these online auto insurance sites when looking for quotes:
In Florida, a typical auto insurance policy costs around $1100 per year.
Look for a policy that meets the minimum state requirements. The state of Florida has a few laws when it comes to auto insurance. As a driver, your auto insurance policy must meet minimum liability coverage rates. You'll need at least $10,000 single injury coverage, $20,000 total injury coverage, and $10,00 property damage coverage.
In addition, you will need to have minimum coverage for DUIs (driving under the influence), having your licensed revoked or suspended, at-fault accidents, and losing your license for too many traffic offenses.
Even if you had previous insurance in another state, Florida law requires that all residents buy auto insurance from a registered Florida insurance agent.
You don't need to have uninsured or underinsured motorists coverage in Florida, according to state law. But the law does require that your insurance company at least offer it to you, and for good reason. Such coverage will cover you financially in the event of an at-fault accident that exceeds your policy's coverage, which could save you a fortune if you cause an accident in Florida.
Not everyone needs to be included on your policy. In Florida, it's not necessary to list all of the drivers in a household on an insurance policy (although your insurance company may still require that you do so). Just keep in mind that if a member of a household is not specifically listed on an insurance policy and is involved in an accident, your insurance company can legally deny any claims made by that driver.
Don't forget the details. Before you can buy auto insurance in Florida, you should realize a few aspects of the application process. First of all, all auto insurance companies in Florida are legally allowed to use your personal credit history to decide whether or not you are eligible for insurance. They really just want to know that you'll be able to pay your monthly premiums on time. A good credit score will raise your chances of being able to buy auto insurance in Florida.
Also, Florida is a no-fault state. This means that citizens of Florida don't have to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP), comp and collision insurance, or uninsured motorist insurance. Just be sure that you know the repercussions of not having such coverage in the event of an accident. Sometimes it's better to have more coverage so that you won't be left with a hefty insurance bill after an auto wreck in Florida.