If you're a driver in New Hampshire, you're actually not required (in most cases) by law to carry proof of car insurance. If you've been convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI), the state requires that you carry some insurance. Everyone else can drive without it. For obvious reasons though, it is still suggested for all drivers. Here are some suggestions on what to consider when it comes time to buy an auto insurance policy in New Hampshire.
Shop around first. If you are required to buy auto insurance in New Hampshire, or if you just feel like it's a good idea, then make sure that you get a few quotes first. Shopping around for auto insurance will provide you with a range of policy premiums and coverage. Having a few quotes will allow you to choose the best auto insurance deal for you. You can check your local phonebook for auto insurance companies in your area, or you can look online. Here are some sites to start your search:
Depending on your past driving record, you can expect to pay between $775 to $800 for auto insurance coverage in New Hampshire.
Look for policies that meet the minimum coverage requirements. If you are required to purchase an auto insurance policy, then it will need to meet the minimum state requirements. You will need at least $25,000 for single bodily injury or death, $50,000 for all injuries or deaths, and an additional $25,000 of property damage liability for any damages caused during an accident. In addition, you'll also need to have $25,000 / $50,000 uninsured /underinsured motorists coverage for bodily injury. Again, these minimums are required for those convicted of serious driving offences in New Hampshire, but only suggested for those purchasing auto insurance for personal reasons.
Not all household members need to be on your policy. If you do have auto insurance in New Hampshire, then the law allows for some members of your household to be omitted from your insurance policy. While this may lower your insurance premiums somewhat, it's never a good idea to allow someone in your household to drive your vehicle while uninsured. If he or she were to be in an accident, the insurance company is not responsible for covering any claims associated with the accident. This could put your in a terrible bind if your family member were to blame, as new Hampshire operates on a tort system where at-fault drivers must pay all victim's expenses after an accident. Consider the cost of medical bills, auto repairs, pain, suffering and loss of wages, and you'll quickly realize that excluding anyone from insurance coverage can be a very costly decision.
Your credit will be assessed. If you are applying for auto insurance in New Hampshire, the company will look at your personal credit history in order to assess your risk. They want to know that you'll be able to pay your car insurance premiums on time, so having a good credit score will get you the best rates and the best coverage. New Hampshire auto insurance companies will also consider your age, gender, location, car and prior insurance coverage when determining your auto insurance premiums.