In the state of Oregon, you are legally required to carry proof of auto insurance whenever you are driving your vehicle. Here are some tips to help you buy an auto insurance policy in Oregon that fits your needs and your budget.
Get a few quotes. Shop around before you decide on an auto insurance policy in Oregon. You'll find that you'll be offered slightly different premiums and products depending on the car insurance companies you talk to. Spend some time calling around to different registered insurance companies in your state, and you will feel confident knowing that you got a good deal and a fair price on coverage. You can check your local phonebook for insurance companies near you, or you can go on the referrals of friends and family members. Another popular starting point for anyone looking to buy auto insurance in Oregon is the internet. Check out popular national auto insurance websites like http://www.allstate.com/ and http://www.statefarm.com/.
In the state of Oregon, you can expect to pay around $725 a year for auto insurance.
Make sure your policy meets the minimum liability coverage requirements for Oregon. The state of Oregon requires that all drivers carry minimum liability coverage on their insurance policies. So when you go to buy coverage, ensure that you have at least $25,000 for personal bodily injury, $50,000 for all bodily injuries, and $10,000 for property damage caused by the crash.
In addition, you'll also need uninsured /underinsured motorists coverage in the amount of $25,000 / $50,000 and the same amounts for uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage for bodily injury. Plus, you need to have $15,000 coverage for personal injury protection. It may sound like a lot of coverage, but it should give you the peace of mind that no matter what happens in a wreck, you'll have some auto insurance coverage.
The state of Oregon follows a ‘tort' system when it comes to auto crashes. This means that any at-fault driver is responsible for paying all of the victims' fees related to the accident, including medical, repairs, pain, suffering and loss of wages. While the above rates are the state minimums, it is recommended that all drivers in Oregon carry more substantial coverage on their auto insurance policies to cover them financially after an at-fault accident.
Some drivers can be left off of your policy. Oregon law allows for drivers in a household to be left off of your insurance policy, although many Oregon auto insurance companies will refuse to offer you coverage unless all drivers in the home are insured. If you choose to leave drivers off of your policy, these excluded names are included in the exclusions section of your policy, which also outlines the many reasons that the insurance company would not be responsible for paying out any claims made by these excluded drivers. You may not be covered if an excluded driver is in an accident in your vehicle, so be sure to read your policy carefully before agreeing to any exclusion.
Keep your credit score in check. Any auto insurance company in Oregon will look at your personal credit history, in part, to determine the products they will offer to you. So keep your credit score high to obtain the best possible chances of being able to buy and renew your auto insurance coverage. They'll also look at your age, gender, location, car and past driving record to determine what auto insurance policy you'll be allowed to buy in Oregon.