If you own a vehicle in Tennessee, then you must carry proof of insurance with you at all times. Here's what you need to know when it comes time to buy auto insurance in Tennessee.
Shopping around saves you money. The insurance industry is a competitive one. Each company will offer you different prices for very similar (if not identical) products and premiums on auto insurance coverage in the state of Tennessee. It's your job to call around to find out what each auto insurance company will offer you, and you can even request that premiums be lowered because you've found better quotes elsewhere. By knowing what the going rate is for auto coverage in your state, you should be able to snag the best deal on auto insurance coverage. Contact your preferred insurance company, as well as popular national insurance companies like All State (http://www.allstate.com/) and State Farm (http://www.statefarm.com/) for quotes.
In the state of Tennessee, you should expect to pay around $650 a year for car insurance.
Understand what the state insurance laws require. Each state has its own specific requirements when it comes to insurance and minimum coverage. In the state of Tennessee, you are required to carry at least $25,000 for single bodily injury, $50,000 for total bodily injury (or death) and an additional $15,000 in property damage.
It is also suggested that you carry at least $50,000 in Uninsured / Underinsured Motorists Coverage, although this is not specifically required by the state of Tennessee. This additional coverage is recommended because Tennessee is a Tort state. So if you are involved in an accident which you caused, Tort law states that you and your insurance company are responsible for all of the victims' fees as a result of the wreck. When you think about the cost of medical bills, auto repairs, as well as the emotional and physical strains that bring on pain, suffering and loss of wages, you will see just how expensive an at-fault accident can be. Don't take a chance by not getting this additional coverage to ensure that your policy will cover you when an emergency arises.
It is legal to exclude drivers from a household policy. In the state of Tennessee, you are legally allowed to leave drivers in your household off of your insurance policy. This will lower your annual insurance premiums slightly. However, an excluded driver will be listed in your insurance policy along with all of the circumstances under which your insurance company would not be responsible for any claims made by an excluded driver. In most cases, if an excluded driver is in an accident in your vehicle, he or she is not covered under your policy and you'll be stuck with the entire bill for the accident. This is obviously a risky decision to make. So understand the consequences first before you decide to risk leaving anyone uninsured.
Know how you'll be assessed. When you apply for auto insurance coverage in Tennessee, auto insurance companies will first consider your past credit history or your credit score in order to determine whether or not you will be an insurance risk. This will help them to determine what premiums to charge you for auto insurance coverage. In addition, they will also look at your age, gender, location, car and past driving history when determining the specifics of your auto insurance policy in Tennessee.