Getting a motorcycle permit or endorsement really depends on the state you live in. The laws differ in every state so you should brush up on the rules, regulations and processes at your local DMV. Here are some tips on how to get your motorcycle permit in these states:
- Alabama. Everyone over the age of 14 is eligible. There is a written exam. You must also submit a Certified U.S. Birth certificate, your Social Security card, a valid I.D., proof that you have graduated or are enrolled in school and $28 for the testing and license fees.
- California. In California, you must have a driver’s license, take a vision test and two written exams (one for motorcycle laws and another for traffic laws) and submit the proper forms to get your permit. After that, to get your motorcycle license, you have to complete the motorcycle rider training course and pass the DMV’s practical test.
- Connecticut. To get your learner’s permit, you must be a resident of Connecticut, 16 years of age and have a valid non-commercial driver’s license. Bring $55 to cover all the fees and your completed application form and you have to pass the vision and written exams. To get the license, you need provide your driver’s license, learner’s permit and insurance and registration forms before you can take the road test.
- Florida. Must be at least 16 years of age with a class E driver’s license and must have completed the Basic Rider Course. There is a fee of $7. There are written and practical examinations.
- Maine. In Maine, to apply for a motorcycle permit or license you must have a valid driver’s license. Persons between 16 and 18 years of age must complete a driver’s education course to get their license. Everyone must also complete the Maine Motorcycle Safety Education Course. Complete the application form and pass the written exam to obtain the permit. To get the license, you have to complete a road test.
- Minnesota. If you want to drive a motorcycle in Minnesota, you need a driver’s license first. To get a permit or “Record of Examination,” you have to pass the written exam and pay $21. For your license, which costs $11, you need to accomplish the skills test.
- North Carolina. Everyone with a driver’s license in North Carolina is eligible for a motorcycle endorsement though persons between the age of 16 and 18 years old need parental consent. Complete the written motorcycle test and you can get your permit. You can decide if you want to wait before you take the driving test to get your license or immediately take it after the written test.
- Ohio. If you want to get your motorcycle permit in Ohio, you must first be at least 15 and ½ years old (but those younger than 18 must bring a parent or guardian with them). Take the written test based on the Motorcycle Operator Manual and Digest of Ohio Motor Laws. You also need to complete the vision test. After passing both tests and completing all the documentation, you can have your permit, which is valid for 1 year. To get your license, you need to pass the driving test. Those under 18 who wish to get their license must complete the Motorcycle Ohio Basic Rider Course.
If you state is not on this list, or you want more information about the laws in the states above, head on over to The Unofficial DMV Guide’s motorcycle section and look for info on your state there or search for your state’s website to learn more about securing a motorcycle permit or endorsement.