How To Know Federal Motor Carrier Regulations

Henry Ford started out with a simple idea.  He wanted a carriage that would not need to be drawn by a horse.  How he came up with this inspiration cannot be explained except by sheer genius.  Ever since the brilliant Ford had this brainchild, he worked and tested several designs and thus, came up with the basis for all modern automobiles.  Nowadays, cars, motorcycles, trucks and even motor carriers are commonplace.  And because the streets have become busy, certain organizations and government departments have created rules and regulations that apply to the different types of vehicles.  You cannot simply buy a car or use a motor carrier without a permit and the required documents.   

First up, you need a motor carrier permit to be able to operate any vehicle that falls under any of these categories:

  • A vehicle with a gross weight rating of 26,001 pounds with a towed unit
  • Any vehicle that was built to handle the carrying of 16 or more passengers
  • Any vehicle that is used to transport hazardous materials
  • Any commercial land vehicle

Next, you have to make sure that you have insurance.  Any federal carrier, safety carrier or auto carrier should have this.  Insurance against accidents and the like may cost a lot but they are well worth it especially if you carry for commercial purposes.  Being insured will save you from a lot of headaches if you are involved in an accident.  You have to follow all the necessary precautions, rules, guidelines, regulations, etc.   

To be familiar with the more common rules and regulations:

  1. Controls and Displays.  This standard was set for multipurpose passenger vehicles, passenger cars, trucks and buses.  The purpose of this subsection is to reduce safety hazards by setting regulations on the visibility, accessibility and recognition of vehicles.  A driver should have the proper controls and displays that would cater to all his needs while at the same time not distracting him from driving in a safe manner. 
  2. Transmission Shift Position Sequence, Starter Interlock, and Transmission Braking Effect.  This subsection gives the required standards for the transmission shift position sequence, starter interlock and transmission braking effect to minimize the probability of errors.  An example of this is:  that a neutral position should be found between the forward and reverse drive positions in the standard gear shift. 
  3. Lamps, Reflective Devices and Associated Equipment.  Authority on this matter states that the purpose for this is to reduce accidents and deaths caused by improper illumination of roads, highways and the like.  Included in this subsection are the standards for lamps, reflectors and similar equipment. 
  4. Motor Vehicle Brake Fluids.  This part includes the standards for labeling of containers of brake fluids and its purpose is to ensure that hydraulic brakes are in good working condition to prevent malfunction while on the road.



Share this article!

Follow us!

Find more helpful articles: