How To Send an Outlook Meeting Cancellation Notice to Attendees

Meetings can get cancelled just as easy as they are asked to be scheduled. It is important to understand how to cancel a meeting and send that cancellation notice to meeting participants correctly. While scheduling a meeting can be challenging at times, cancelling a meeting and sending an Outlook meeting cancellation notice to attendees is quite simple. You will be very pleased to know that there are a few different options available to you to perform this function in Outlook.

Option 1:

  1. Open the calendar in Outlook.
  2. Open the invite for the meeting you are going to cancel.
  3. In the top left hand corner click the 'Cancel Meeting'.
  4. Click the 'Send Cancellation' button.
  5. The meeting will be deleted from your calendar and a meeting cancellation notice will be sent to meeting participants.

Option 2:

  1. Open the calendar in Outlook.
  2. Hover your mouse over the meeting you are going to cancel and right click.
  3. Select 'Delete' (This will open the calendar invite).
  4. In the upper left hand corner, click 'Send Cancellation'.
  5. The meeting will be deleted from your calendar and a meeting cancellation notice will be sent to meeting participants.

Option 3:

  1. Open the calendar in Outlook.
  2. Single click on the invite so that your curser is blinking inside the calendar item.
  3. In the upper left hand corner of the ribbon click the black X (This will open the calendar invite).
  4. In the upper left hand corner click the 'Send Cancellation' button.
  5. The meeting will be deleted from your calendar and a meeting cancellation notice will be sent to meeting participants.

Before scheduling any meeting in Outlook do not include yourself as a meeting participant. If you do and accept your own meeting invite, Outlook will view you the same as all the other participants and you will not be able to modify or cancel the meeting.

More importantly when cancelling a meeting where you want an Outlook meeting cancellation notice to be generated and sent to meeting attendees, it is important to note that just deleting or removing a meeting from your calendar without selecting the ‘Send Cancellation' button will not notify the attendees that the meeting has been cancelled. In fact, it will do just the opposite. The calendar views of the attendees will show the meeting is still scheduled. Any change would need to be made manually.

 

Share this article!

Follow us!

Find more helpful articles: