The first step in a teaching career is to acquire certification. This may be achieved through certification programs like those offered by the National Teacher Education Center. They offer programs in Elementary Education or Special Education. Teaching certificates differ depending on the state in which you apply. Normally, the basic requirements are a college degree and teaching credentials. We will discuss more on these requirements in this article.
In Illinois, an interested applicant has to pass a state certificate preparation program, cover all the coursework needed and accomplish other requirements required by the law.
The Florida Certification has been updated recently. It now offers new kinds of teaching certificates like Out-of-State Certified Teacher or Administrator; Graduate of a Teacher Education Program; Career Changer or College Graduate of a Non-Educational Program; Foreign Trained Graduate or Non-Citizen; and High School Graduates Considering Teaching. The Florida certified teachers program includes: adding a subject or Endorsement Certificate; moving from the temporary to the Professional Certificate; renewing a Florida Professional Certificate; reinstating an expired Florida Professional Certificate; and other certification memos.
Texas has very rigid requirements for teaching applicants. You should graduate from an accredited school or college of education with any bachelor degree and have a GPA of 2.5 or higher. You should also be completely free from taking classes anymore. For foreign applicants, you must pass the TOEFL exam for English. The state provides certificates for all subject fields. Once you've chosen your field of expertise, you need to apply for and pass the state content test (TExES). The board will decide on the schedule for the test. You won't have to worry about the cost for the certification because Texas offers the lowest overall cost. First, there's no application fee. For only $4,195, you can have all the training materials needed. To start the training, you only have to pay a low front-up cost of $395. Don't worry, you can get the rest of the amount after getting hired. You should apply for the Probationary Certification once you get your license. This period will be your internship period. You can now apply for substitute teaching. After a year, you could apply for the Standard Certification. You need to complete the Texas Teachers training and pay the amount owed to the Texas Teachers Association through payroll deduction.
In Georgia, you have to apply for the certification and have the forms downloaded. You should also follow the steps in the certification process. Aside from the regular examinations, you also have to accomplish the Educator Assessment Requirements and the Computer Skill Competency Assessment. You can view the status of your application on the state website online. When prompted for the certification code, you simply have to type in your social certification number.
If you are in New York, you have to complete a full application and submit it along with important documents like your original transcripts, GPA, and conferral date of the degree. You also have to complete the fingerprint clearance, proof of attendance of the Child Abuse Identification and Reporting Workshop and the School Violence Prevention and Intervention Workshop.