How To Understand the Rosary in the Catholic Church

The Catholic Church introduces a number of Supreme Beings to its devotees. They have God, the Son of God who is Jesus, the Holy Spirit, the Virgin Mary, and the Saints. The followers of the church have different ways of showing devotion to the different religious figures. For instance, praying the Rosary is offered to St. Mary. In the history of the Catholic Church, the prayers in the form of the Rosary started in 1206. It was introduced by an apparition of the Virgin Mary to St. Dominic Guzman for the redemption of the people from heresy and sin.

Reciting the Rosary

Praying the Rosary is the praying of the beads. The literal Rosary is one in a form of a necklace with a cross and beads divided into different sets or parts. The beads denote what the prayers to be recited are. For example, the Rosary starts with a cross in where the Apostle's Creed is recited. The beads in the group of tens indicate the saying of the Hail Mary while an isolated bead signifies the saying of the Our Father.

A full rosary has a total of 166 beads. The 153 of them is Hail Mary and the other 16 is the Our Father. The Hail Mary beads are organized in sets of 10 beads, called a decade. On each decade, a mystery of Christ's life should be the center of meditation.

Originally, there were 15 mysteries of Christ's life that were divided into three parts: the Joyful Mysteries, Sorrowful Mysteries, and Glorious Mysteries. However, in 2002, Pope John Paul II added another set called the Light Mysteries. There is a corresponding day for every mystery. For example Joyful Mysteries are prayed on Mondays and Saturdays; Glorious Mysteries on Wednesdays and Sundays; Sorrowful Mysteries on Tuesdays and Fridays; and Light Mysteries on Thursdays.

The Rosary Tradition

Ordinary families and individuals can be seen praying the Rosary almost everyday, usually around 6:00 in the evening. Most of the members of the Catholic Church believe that once they pray the Rosary in nine consecutive days, one wish can be granted.

In addition to the Holy Rosary tradition, the month of October is regarded as the Rosary Month in where all of the devotees pray the Rosary in all days of the month, either in a religious mass or in isolation. This is to honor the Queen of the Holy Rosary, who is the Virgin Mary.

As a popular belief of the member of the Catholic Church, the Virgin Mary will grant 15 promises to all who will piously recite her prayers. Some of the promises include:

  1. They shall receive some special grace.
  2. They shall be given special protection and great graces.
  3. The Rosary will be their most powerful armor against hell that will destroy all vices and weaken sin.
  4. Their soul shall not perish.
  5. They shall never be overcome by misfortunes and shall not experience the anger of God.
  6. Their souls shall be delivered from purgatory.
  7. They shall enjoy great glory in Heaven.
  8. They shall obtain whatever they ask through the Rosary.
  9. They shall get Her assistance in every necessity.
  10. They are all Her children.

Praying the Rosary is considered by the members of the Catholic Church as a powerful prayer. Once the Rosary is with them, they believe they are always safe and protected.


Share this article!

Follow us!

Find more helpful articles: